Laser Hair Removal Technician Spam
Being an IT guy (with heavy web development under my belt) I rarely venture out to other fields. However, my personal life brings insights to totally different fields.
As my girlfriend is looking for a aesthetician / laser hair removal tech positionwe constantly check craigslist. Yesterday we stumbled on pretty decent ad that promised (obviously exaggerating a bit) a nice spot for someone with similar background. Naturally, we responded to the ad.
Next day there was an answer laying in my girlfriend's mailbox, stating that in order to proceed she needs to fill out some form on the web. While such practice is not uncommon for really large companies, going through same routine to get a job at a local doctor's office or spa smelled fishy to me. The link - quickstrikecareers.com?(numbers) - added to pile of suspicions. I checked whois for this domain (I'm a techie, remember?) and the pile of suspicion (domain uses anonymizing service from Network Solutions, not a reputable organization by itself) got so big I couldn't see the reason to continue investigation behind it. I did, however, google search for this domain. Out of six search results four were clearly stating that this domain is involved in some sort of scam that gathers applicant's data and then annoys them with unsolicited calls about various career-related services.
While this bait-and-switch technique isn't right all by itself, playing people, who (due to recent economy evens) may be desperate trying to get a job and pay their bills is pure thievery all by itself. By the way, the ad has already been taken down by craigslist. Good job.
| Comments |
|
